Book Reviews


Author: Meg Gardiner
Published: June 27, 2017 by Dutton
Genre: Psychological Thriller; Crime Fiction
Hardcover: 366 pages
My Rating: 3 1/2 stars

Two decades after a five-year murder spree in the Bay Area that nearly destroyed lead detective Mack Hendrix, a killer is on the loose again with a very similar MO. This time the job to stop him lands on Mack’s daughter, Caitlin, who is new to the narcotics division. She’s determined to decipher the killer’s twisted messages and stop the carnage, but at what cost? Dubbed The Prophet by the media, his cryptic messages and mind games almost drove Caitlin’s father to the brink of madness twenty years ago.

If you like your serial killer novels graphic and disturbing, you’ll like this one. Drawing inspiration from the Zodiac Killer, this is being compared to Se7en and Silence of the Lambs. I do like a good murder mystery puzzle and this one where the killer taunts law enforcement, satisfied that need for me.

Focusing the story on Detective Caitlin Hendrix, whose father failed to catch The Prophet years ago, adds another dimension to the story as the author explores Caitlin’s troubled relationship with her father. Character development was excellent and I look forward to learning more about this tough as nails detective in the sequel, Into the Black Nowhere.

It’s been said that this novel is perfect for fans of Criminal Minds. With it’s psychological pull and complex plotting, you can’t help but be engrossed in this story. When a thriller is on point with plot and characterization, count me in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.